Who, What and Why?

Hi there, I’m Osama, the creator of this blog. I’d like to talk to you about who I am, what this blog is about and the reason why I created it.

Who?

Personal photo of me with my parents.
Me in the middle with my mom and dad at my graduation party.

My name is Osama Adel, I got my B.Sc. in Computer Engineer from Computers and Control Systems Engineering department, Faculty of Engineering, Mansoura University, Egypt – in 2016.

I’m also a robotics geek, I got hooked to the MATE ROV competition, participating for 3 consecutive times and ranked the 5th with my team – Hydrobots, and winning the Best Engineering Design award in 2015. I was also a mentor in NASA International Space Apps Challenge in April 2016 and my team – the S Team – won the 1st place locally and got qualified to the next round.

Hydra ROV.
Hydra is the ROV with which we won the 5th place and the best engineering design award in the regional competition in 2015.

I’ve used Arduino(s), PIC(s), Raspberry Pi(s). I programmed with Python, C, C++, C#, Matlab and LabView. I did some images processing using OpenCV with Python, AForge.NET with C#.NET and used Simulink to simulate a PID controller on a mechanical model of a robotic arm. I did one thing or two with each one of those things and I gained a fair amount of knowledge throughout these encounters.

I’ve been a team leader two times, I’ve supervised mechanical and electrical teams, I’ve gain some knowledge in fabrication and mechanical design in addition of course to my own speciality – control. I’ve worked under extreme pressure, tight deadlines and sudden changes of plans and with different kinds of people.

At the moment of writing these lines, I’m spending my mandatory military recruitment period in the Egyptian Armed Forces (which will end in April 2019). Meanwhile, I’ll have a plenty of time to share a lot of what I’ve learned with you.

What?

snapshot of ROV course slides.
A snapshot of one slide of my ROV Control System Design course.

To share my thoughts and what I’ve learnt with you, I decided to create a website where I can freely do what I want. So, here is what to expect to find here:

  • Posts about different topics in Computer Engineering, Control Engineering, Robotics, Graduate Studies, Scholarships, Internships and Job opportunities, Leadership and Management, and Technology related events.
  • A lot of tutorials.
  • My projects portfolio with most of the code is open and free.
  • My CV/Resume.
  • Contact information in case you want to say hello.

Why?

why

There are several reasons for me creating this blog:

  1. Sharing of knowledge
  2. Online identity
  3. Practicing English!

1. Sharing of knowledge

Sharing what you know with others is critical to receive knowledge from others. Sharing knowledge and experiences is what makes the internet what it is today. It’s fantastic, and makes you learn better by demonstrating what you know to others.

2.Online identity

Ultimately, this is a personal blog. What I write at this blog reflects my personality and my qualifications. If someone wants to get to know me better without actually meeting me, walking through this website is the best way. It’s my online identity. It’s how employers, research supervisors and other people will see me. So it’s not all for charity, there is a profiteering aspect behind the scenes.

3. Practicing English!

It’s clear that English is not my native language. However, English is the language that I am using and will use most of the time at work and at academia. Therefore, writing only in English is a great way to improve my writing capabilities and practicing writing and reading English better. Another reason is that writing in English will target a broader audience rather than writing in Arabic. You know, Arabs and almost everyone speak English today, but not everyone speaks Arabic. Nevertheless, sometimes I’ll be using Arabic and at these moments, I’ll likely provide an English translation or subscripts to the Arabic sentences said or written for everyone to understand.

So, ..

I guess that says most of it, this is my personal blog, I’ll be writing about things I am interested in, I’ll be giving online tutorials both written and video recorded, I’ll be working on building this website to be my projects portfolio as well as my own resume. I hope that you’ll find my posts and tutorials useful and .. good luck.

5 thoughts on “Who, What and Why?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

